Top 20 songs with a woman’s name in the title!!!

Okay, I know what you’re thinking, It’s Top TEN By Ken, but this was a list that was too difficult to compile only ten, so for this list (and I reserve the right to do it with future lists as well … hey, my rules, I make ’em up), we’re going to call it TOP TWENTY BY KENNY! I know that, as with any musical list, this one will spark some debate amongst readers … and by debate, I mean psychotic disagreements. AND, as so much of music is opinion and taste, I’ll keep most of my music major commentary out of it … in fact, there will not be much commentary at all, must to the delight of most πŸ™‚ Also, this is pretty much going to be ’50’s-90’s rock, in case there are some new school listeners that hate me …

20. “Josie” – Steely Dan: This was a hard pick over their other one, “Peg”, but “Josie” gets the nod, just in my opinion, because, well, I just like it better!

19. “Peggy Sue” – Buddy Holly: I’ve tried to put a little taste from every musically relevant decade, and what would a rock and roll music list be without some of the pioneers. Also, see “Oh, Carol”, by Chuck Berry!

18. “Angie” – Rolling Stones (tie) w/ “Michelle” – Beatles: To be perfectly honest, I’ve never much cared for “Michelle”, but being the only Beatles song to ever win a Grammy has to count for something, doesn’t it? Personally, I’d probably go with “Polythene Pam” or “Julia”, but … also, “Angie” DOES happen to be one of my favorite Stones tunes … and it just seemed fitting to tie the two most well-known and influential bands of all time!

17. “Roxanne” – The Police: Was never a real fan of Sting, to be honest, but it’s really hard not to like this raw, emotional song.

16. “Billie Jean” – Michael Jackson: Possibly the most well-known song by one of the most influential artists of all time!

15. “Sunny Came Home” – Shawn Colvin: As we are trapped by visions (or nightmares) of Ol’ Dirty Bastard, we tend to forget that this is, simply put, a great song!

14. “Cracklin’ Rosie” – Neil Diamond: The only artist with two songs in this list … hey, man, it’s Neil!

13. “Proud Mary” – CCR/Ike & Tina: I must go with the rip-roaring Ike and Tina Turner version on this one, even though it was written by Fogerty. They followed the cover rule: if you’re going to do a cover, do it completely differently, better … or, preferably, both!

12. “Rosanna” – Toto: There are those that would see this one as being too high on the list, but it’s one of my absolute favorite ’80’s tunes, and does not overuse the sometimes annoying ’80’s synth element!

11. “Annie’s Song” – John Denver: If you cannot admit that this is an incredibly well-written and heart-wrenching song, you just don’t have a soul!

… and then, there were 10 …

10. “Melissa” – The Allman Brothers Band: I’ve played this song in 3 different bands, heard it a thousand times, and I honestly can’t say anything about it … except that, like the lyric, it’s sweet!

9. “My Sharona” – The Knack: If you are an adult of GenX, you are pretty much required to get up and dance when this most-recognizable song is played!

8. “Lola” – The Kinks: I know that this is kind of a contradiction, considering the subject matter, so if you don’t agree, I won’t argue! Nonetheless, a terrific song, and one of 2 or 3 signature Kinks tunes!

7. “Carrie Ann” – The Hollies: One of the most underrated bands of all time, and one of their signature songs … always puts me in a good mood, and for a miserable bastard like me, that counts for a lot!

6. “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes” – Crosby, Stills and Nash: Trivia Question: what does this song have in common with song #7?

5. “Donna” – Ritchie Valens: One of classic rock and roll’s most well-known and most simple tunes. It is straight from the heart, and oddly enough, it goes straight to the heart of the listener!

4. “Brandi” – Looking Glass: This was the song that my wife and I were introduced to at our wedding reception, and if you know the lyrics, you’ll understand how ironic that is. The only thing more ironic is that our first dance was “Someone Saved My Life Tonight” by Elton John. If you think that this one is too high, I honestly think it’s too low, so we’ll meet in the middle at #4!

3. “Layla” – Eric Clapton: Knowing that this song was a plea to Eric Clapton’s best friend’s (George Harrison) wife (who was still married to him) SHOULD make one like it less, but the song’s so good, you tend to forget that!

2. “Gloria” – Them: There is something about a Van Morrison sung song, especially when it is such a raw, garage tune that pretty much everyone can play, but NOBODY can play well! A staple of classic rock, if there ever was one!

and the #1 tune with a woman’s name in the title …

1. “Sweet Caroline” – Neil Diamond: Is it overplayed at this point? Probably. Is it overplayed in 2010? Probably. Could that be evidence for how great and effective this song is? Definitely! You will NOT find a person over the age of 20 that does not know this song … and that’s something that cannot be said about any other on this list. And for some reason, something inside you just tends to smile when you hear those first few bars! There’s just something about Neil!

Okay second-guessers. That’s the Top 20 by Kenny. Even if you don’t agree (and I sincerely hope you don’t), I hope you liked it!

Now, please … for the love of GOD, comment! I want to hear what you think I’ve missed!

LK